Best Players to Have Never Won an NBA Title

Please follow and like us:

Games of sport are some of the games that are very exciting to watch. Players and spectators enjoy the thrill that comes with such sports. One of the most followed game in the world is basketball. Various renowned franchises all over the world fight for dominance in the sport. In the USA the NBA championship is one of the most revered titles. All the teams in the conferences work hard to be winners as winning it is considered a significant achievement in a player’s life. However, in every game, there are winners and losers. Losing is a painful thing for the team and its stakeholders.


The article is all about basketball players who in their time as players deserved to win the title but in one way or another failed to capture the title. Being an MVP is considered prestigious but helping your team win the title is all that matters. Individual accolades count but that team achievement is more valued.


Some of the players who were not fortunate enough to win the title include:


Patrick Ewing


Patrick Ewing was drafted by New York Knicks in 1995. At the time of his signing, he was supposed to revolutionize the team by bringing trophies to the franchise’s cabinet. He was a marvelous player who always averaged 21 points and 10 rebounds per game. This is a good return considering he had a long, illustrious career spurning 17 years. Although Ewing always tried very hard to win a championship, Chicago Bulls lead by their talismanic leader Michael Jordan always slew them. Although Ewing and New York provided Chicago Bulls one of their toughest playoffs, they Chicago Bulls always prevailed knocking Ewing and New York Knicks out of play the year 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1996. The only time that Ewing had the chance of taking the title was in 1994 as Jordan had a hiatus from the game. However, he was slain by Hakeem Olajuwon of Houston Rockets.


Allen Iverson


He goes down the list of players that never won the championship as he averaged 27 points per game in his career. Although many considered him petulant and selfish, Allen Iverson was a hard worker. Leading the league scoring charts in four different seasons is no small thing. A dominant player standing at 6 feet, A.I as he was fondly known was a hard basketball man who nearly won the NBA title in 2001, but a charged Lakers Los Angeles led by the fearful duo of Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal edged them out in the finals.


Charles Barkley


Charles Barkley averaged an impressive 23 point, 12 rebounds and 4 assists per game in his career. He was a superstar who led his team 76ers very bravely. However, he was unable to deliver his team the needed title. He led his team to six playoffs in eight years but failed to deliver a title. He has won the MVP in his successful career; However, Michael Jordan is one of the players who gave him hell on the court.


Elgin Baylor


He was one of the best players of his generation and played for Minneapolis Lakers. In his first season after being signed as rookie, he averaged 22 points, 13 rebounds and 4 assists per game. However, he and his team were forced to surrender the title on several occasions by teams like the Lakers. What makes his story even worse is injury forced him to retire in 1972. However, the same year, his team won the title after beating New York Knicks.


John Stockton and Karl Malone
These two hard men were inseparable in their career. They are considered some of the best in the positions that they used to play. However, despite their heroics in the game, the duo failed to deliver their team the revered NBA title to their team. However, it’s good to acknowledge that this pair really deserved to win.